Council Committees

Finance and Operations Committee

Members: Tom Perry (Chair), Meghan Gardner, Terry Greenier, Geoff Wingard, Laurie Osher 

The Finance and Operations Committee is concerned with a wide range of Town business, including but not limited to the day-to-day functioning of Town departments such as the Police, Fire, Public Works, Library and Parks and Recreation departments, in addition to personnel decisions and the budget process.

Community Development Committee

Members: Terry Greenier (Chair), Laurie Osher, Cheryl Robertson

The Community Development Committee focuses on the development of the Town as both an economic engine and a wonderful place to live and work. To that end, the Committee is charged with the development of a wide range of ordinances, as well as the development of plans and orders related to Town economic development and beautification.

Comprehensive Plan Implementation Committee

Members: Meghan Gardner (Chair), Geoff Wingard, Cheryl Robertson

The Comprehensive Plan Implementation Committee is tasked with considering matters related to the Town's Comprehensive Plan, adopted every 10 years, which outlines information, ideas, and goals about land use in the Town. The Comprehensive Plan Implementation Committee's  primary focus is making sure that land use in the Town, including but not limited to  Therefore, many ordinances and orders relating to land use seek approval in the comprehensive Plan Implementation Committee. 

Environment Ad Hoc Subcommittee

Council Members: Cheryl Robertson (Chair)

At-large Members: Brieanne Berry, Daniel Dixon,  Benjamin Hale, Lee Warren

A special ad hoc committee of the Town Council focused on the Environment and matters that impact the environment with an initial charge to develop a draft comprehensive plan for Council consideration that would provide guidance for policy and operational decision-makers related to decreasing Orono’s environmental footprint and increasing its ability to withstand the impacts of climate change.

Additional information about the Environment Committee can be found here