Getting Your Car Registered During COVID-19

I HAVE HEARD THE TOWN OFFICE IS CURRENTLY CLOSED TO THE PUBLIC – HOW CAN I GET MY CAR REGISTERED?

Currently you have a couple of options:  You can drop off required paperwork with required payment in our external drop box outside the municipal building to be processed.  Once completed, it will be mailed back to your address.  Secondly, you can mail in all required paperwork with payment to be processed and returned by office personnel who are in the office and available by phone.  Lastly, renewals may be processed online through Maine.gov.  Regardless of whichever option that you select, you must prepare the documentation ahead of time to ensure completion from start to finish. Below are some checklists to ensure that you are adequately prepared and your transaction is not held up.  As always, should you get stuck along the way, do not hesitate to reach out at (207) 866-2556.  

QUICK TIP - To review how fees are broken down while estimating registration costs, please scroll to the bottom of this webpage!

Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles update 3/20:

Motor vehicle and trailer registrations, including all temporary registrations and any fuel use decals that expire during the state of emergency will be extended.

This applies to registrations issued by municipalities or the Bureau of Motor Vehicles, and also to temporary registrations issued by dealers.  The State of Maine recognizes the need of individuals, families, and businesses for transportation, work and commerce during the emergency.  These registrations can be renewed after the emergency ends.

Registrations issued by a municipality, including temporary registrations, are deemed extended until 30 days following the termination of the state of emergency  pursuant to P.L. 2019, ch. 617, F-1 , emergency laws approved by the Governor on March 18, 2020.

Other registrations, including temporary registrations, will be extended until 30 days following the termination of the state of emergency pursuant to the emergency provision of 29-A MRSA 405(4).


View these checklists to make each of the transactions go smoothly…  

IF YOU ARE NEW TO ORONO AND NEVER REGISTERED A MOTOR VEHICLE, YOU MUST INCLUDE PROOF OF RESIDENCY FOR ANY TRANSACTION.

To register a new automobile from a dealer, Include:
     1. Application for MVT-2 Certificate of Title (Blue paper)
     2. Purchase and Sales Agreement or lease agreement from dealership
     3. If this is a Brand-New Vehicle, we need the Moroney Label, also known as the window sticker
     4. Current insurance displaying the VIN #, Make/Model, and effective dates
     5. BMV Verification Form - Download here
     6. Current mileage
     7. A check or money order made out to the Town of Orono.
     Mail to: Town of Orono, 59 Main Street, Orono ME 04473

If the NEW vehicle is being completed as a TRANSFER of CREDIT from a previously owned vehicle, you will need to provide a copy of the previous registration or the plate number so we may access your record.

To register a new automobile purchased through private sale, include:
     1. A Certificate of Title signed over to you by the owners listed on the front of State Title
     2. A Bill of Sale which lists the VIN # made, detailing the amount paid and signed by owners
     3. Current insurance displaying the VIN #, Make/Model, and effective dates
     4. Current mileage
     5. BMV Verification Form - Download here
     6. A check or money order made out to the Town of Orono
     Mail to: Town of Orono, 59 Main Street, Orono ME 04473

For private sales, all registrants should be present at time of registration or remotely sign the MVT-2 Title application. Previous Titles must also be complete with no cross-outs or errors.

To renew registration for an automobile already registered in Orono, include:
     1. Copy of previous registration or the Plate #
     2. Current insurance displaying VIN #, Make/Model, and effective dates
     3. Current mileage
     4. A check or money order made out to the Town of Orono
     Mail to: Town of Orono, 59 Main Street, Orono ME 04473

For renewals, there is an online option, which includes a transaction fee of 2.5% of the total transaction cost, unless using an electronic check, which removes the service fees:  Maine Rapid Renewal

To register a new automobile using an excise credit from a vehicle which you do not have possession of include:
     1. Proof of insurance
     2. Yellow registration from the previous automobile reflecting the credit to be transferred to the new vehicle
     Mail to: Town of Orono, 59 Main Street, Orono ME 04473

If you have a complicated situation regarding a motor vehicle, please call our office (207) 866-2556, Option 2 
In most cases, office staff can provide a rough estimate of automobile registration cost for Orono residents if all information is provided ahead of time. If purchasing an out of state/country, you must present all documents from various sources and anticipate some delay.  

For any questions, to ensure proper document preparations, and quotes, please call the Town Office at (207) 866-2556, Option 2.

Excise Tax and Other Fees

AUTO 
YEAR

EXCISE 
Mil Rate X MSRP Price

2020

.0240

2019

.0175

2018

.0135

2017

.0100

2016

.0065

2015

.0040

So… why is the excise tax based on MSRP?        

Excise tax was designed with equity in mind. In 1925, this tax was enacted as a Maine law. At that time, the Legislature decided that the fairest tax assessment would be based on what the manufacturer suggests it sell for.  This law has remained in effect for nearly 100 years to ensure that everyone who drives the same vehicle pays the same amount of tax. 

Other fees are calculated using the following rates:

First Time Registration Cost: 
Excise Tax + Plate Fees + Agent Fees ($6) +Title ($33.00) and Sales Tax (Cost X .055)      
Renewal Cost:  Excise Tax + Plate Fees + Agent Fees ($5)

Maine vehicles must pay a plate use fee of $35.00 annually in addition to calculated Excise Tax and Agent Fees.  Specialty plates will add an additional fee of $15-30 per plate in addition to the regular plate use fee of $35.00.

Vanity plates may only be ordered through Bangor, Augusta /or Online.  The vanity fee is $25.00 and must be registered annually to retain the plate.  If a vanity registration lapses more than six months, you must re-apply for the plate again to the Secretary of State.

1995 automobiles and newer must complete an MVT-2 Title Application and may not be registered without presenting a title the first time.  If a lien holder has the previous title, you must present the original finance documents or a statement from lien holder which outlines the payment address and schedule.

If the vehicle is purchased from a private sale, sales tax is calculated by the following:
Vehicle Price X .055.  Vehicles which are gifted between family, friends or acquaintances must complete a $0 sales tax form.  All cars being registered the first time must have a Bill of Sale and MVT-2 Title along with proof of insurance to complete.  Each person listed on registration must sign the Title application.